Topics and Supervisors

The list of topics and supervisors will be continuously updated during the preparation of the call.

Topics

GNeuS is aiming to maximize the output of fellows and to fit their individual needs. The research programmes will be then proposed by the fellows in a research area of their choice, based on the research fields of the MLZ-partners.

However some research topics are also suggested as listed below.

Click on the topic’s title to get more details of the type of research involved.

Main supervisor MLZ institution Title
E.Babcock FZJ Neutron Polarization in the Extremes
S.Förster FZJ Biomimetic collagen materials
S.Förster FZJ Blockcopolymer-based Li-Batteries
S.Förster FZJ Waterborne high-performance coatings
H.Frielinghaus FZJ Interdiffusion of polymers and water in colloids
M.Hofmann TUM Residual stresses in metal additive manufacturing
J.Jochum TUM Advanced instrumentation for magnetic excitations and diffusion – Pushing the MIEZE detector well beyond its limits
K.Lieutenant FZJ Virtual Experiments combined with Machine Learning to improve Data Evaluation of SANS Measurements
K.Lieutenant FZJ Virtual Neutron Scattering Experiments at MLZ and other Facilities
E.Mauerhofer FZJ Non-destructive characterization of magnets with fast neutrons
S.Mühlbauer TUM Quench Safety and Quench Protection of Metal-Insulated Superconducting Coils for the Next Generation Sample Environment Magnets
M.Ohl FZJ Lithium – Ion Batteries: a microscopic view!
A.Radulescu FZJ Dynamics and Structure Formation in Bioflocculation Processes
A.Radulescu FZJ Investigations of multispecies aerosol formation using small angle neutron scattering technique
A.Radulescu FZJ Polysaccharide-based microgels and nanogels for the food sector
A.Radulescu FZJ Structure of complex fluids in extensional flow
U.Rücker FZJ Low dimensional cold moderator systems
M.Schulz TUM Additive manufacturing – Studying the effect of non-ideal process parameters on defect evolution and mechanical properties using neutron imaging and classical approaches
C.Solis Hereon Full investigation of Advanced Engineering Materials
Y.Su FZJ Emergent phenomena in topological quantum materials
P.Zakalek FZJ Target-Moderator-Reflector optimization for High-current Accelerator-based Neutron Sources

Supervisors

Main supervisor Field of expertise Email
Angst, Manuel Multifunctional materials m.angst@fz-juelich.de
Appavou, Marie-Sousai Soft Matter Biology m.s.appavou@fz-juelich.de
Babcock, Earl Neutron Polarization e.babcock@fz-juelich.de
Engels, Ralf Detector Technology r.engels@fz-juelich.de
Förster, Stephan Soft Matter s.foerster@fz-juelich.de
Frielinghaus, Henrich Soft Matter h.frielinghaus@fz-juelich.de
Friese, Karen Caloric Materials k.friese@fz-juelich.de
Garvey, Christopher Materials Science christopher.garvey@tum.de
Georgii, Robert Magnetism Robert.Georgii@frm2.tum.de
Gutberlet, Thomas Compact neutron sources t.gutberlet@fz-juelich.de
Hofmann, Michael Materials Science Michael.Hofmann@frm2.tum.de
Holderer, Olaf Soft Matter o.holderer@fz-juelich.de
Jochum, Johanna Magnetism and Instrumentation Johanna.Jochum@frm2.tum.de
Kemmerling, Günter Detector Technology g.kemmerling@fz-juelich.de
Kentzinger, Emmanuel Thin film heterostructures e.kentzinger@fz-juelich.de
Kruteva, Margarita Biology m.kruteva@fz-juelich.de
Lieutenant, Klaus Simulation, virtual experiments k.lieutenant@fz-juelich.de
Losko, Adrian Imaging Adrian.Losko@frm2.tum.de
Mauerhofer, Eric Neutron Analytics e.mauerhofer@fz-juelich.de
Mühlbauer, Sebastian Magnetism Sebastian.Muehlbauer@frm2.tum.de
Nandi, Shibabrata Quantum Materials s.nandi@fz-juelich.de
Ohl, Michael Battery m.ohl@fz-juelich.de
Petracic, Oleg Magnetic Nanoparticles o.petracic@fz-juelich.de
Radulescu, Aurel Soft Matter a.radulescu@fz-juelich.de
Rücker, Ulrich Neutron Source Technology u.ruecker@fz-juelich.de
Schulz, Michael Imaging, Materials Science Michael.Schulz@frm2.tum.de
Solis, Cecilia Materials Science cecilia.solis@hereon.de
Su, Yixi Magnetism y.su@fz-juelich.de
Voigt, Jörg Instrument Technology j.voigt@fz-juelich.de
Wuttke, Joachim Reflectivity Methods, Data Treatment j.wuttke@fz-juelich.de
Zakalek, Paul Neutron Source Technology p.zakalek@fz-juelich.de
Zhernenkov, Kirill Ultra Cold Neutrons k.zhernenkov@fz-juelich.de