Topics and Supervisors

The list of topics and supervisors will be continuously updated during the preparation of the call.

Topics

GNeuS is aiming to maximize the output of fellows and to fit their individual needs. The research programmes will be then proposed by the fellows in a research area of their choice, based on the research fields of the MLZ-partners.

Some research topics suggested in the context of Call n.2 are listed below.

Click on the topic’s title to get more details of the type of research involved.

Main supervisor MLZ institution Title
A.Radulescu FZJ Investigations of multispecies aerosol formation using small angle neutron scattering technique
E.Babcock FZJ Neutron Polarization in the Extremes
E.Babcock FZJ Towards Polarization Analysis for Quasi Elastic Neutron Scattering (PA-QENS)
S.Förster FZJ Biomimetic collagen materials
S.Förster FZJ Solid Polymer Electrolytes for Next Generation Li-Ion Batteries
C.Franz FZJ Data reduction for multi-Ei neutron time-of-flight at long-pulse sources
C.Garvey TUM Spinning edible fibres from plant polysaccharides
C.Garvey TUM Local Dynamics of Model Membrane Systems probed by Neutron Spectroscopy
K.Lieutenant FZJ Performance study of promising hydrogen storage materials using neutron scattering
S. Mühlbauer FZJ Signature of defect-induced symmetry breaking in magnetic neutron scattering
M.Ohl FZJ Lithium – Ion Batteries: a microscopic view!
A.Schneidewind FZJ Designing a new primary spectrometer for the cold TAS PANDA
A.Schneidewind FZJ Data analysis on complex spectroscopy data
M.Schulz TUM Additive manufacturing – Studying the effect of non-ideal process parameters on defect evolution and mechanical properties using neutron imaging and classical approaches
A.Stadler FZJ Dynamics of intrinsically disordered proteins: A concerted experimental and theoretical study
M.Stekiel FZJ Understanding multiferroic properties of TbFeO3 by studying its magnetic excitations
Y.Su FZJ Neutron scattering on emergent quantum materials

Supervisors

Main supervisor Field of expertise Email
Angst, Manuel Multifunctional materials m.angst@fz-juelich.de
Appavou, Marie-Sousai Soft Matter Biology m.s.appavou@fz-juelich.de
Babcock, Earl Neutron Polarization e.babcock@fz-juelich.de
Engels, Ralf Detector Technology r.engels@fz-juelich.de
Förster, Stephan Soft Matter s.foerster@fz-juelich.de
Frielinghaus, Henrich Soft Matter h.frielinghaus@fz-juelich.de
Friese, Karen Crystallography k.friese@fz-juelich.de
Garvey, Christopher Biomaterials and Biotechnology christopher.garvey@tum.de
Georgii, Robert Magnetism Robert.Georgii@frm2.tum.de
Gutberlet, Thomas Compact neutron sources t.gutberlet@fz-juelich.de
Hofmann, Michael Materials Science Michael.Hofmann@frm2.tum.de
Holderer, Olaf Soft Matter o.holderer@fz-juelich.de
Jochum, Johanna Magnetism and Instrumentation Johanna.Jochum@frm2.tum.de
Kemmerling, Günter Detector Technology g.kemmerling@fz-juelich.de
Kentzinger, Emmanuel Thin film heterostructures e.kentzinger@fz-juelich.de
Kruteva, Margarita Biology m.kruteva@fz-juelich.de
Lieutenant, Klaus Simulation, virtual experiments k.lieutenant@fz-juelich.de
Losko, Adrian Imaging Adrian.Losko@frm2.tum.de
Mauerhofer, Eric Neutron Analytics e.mauerhofer@fz-juelich.de
Mühlbauer, Sebastian Magnetism Sebastian.Muehlbauer@frm2.tum.de
Nandi, Shibabrata Quantum Materials s.nandi@fz-juelich.de
Ohl, Michael Battery m.ohl@fz-juelich.de
Petracic, Oleg Magnetic Nanoparticles o.petracic@fz-juelich.de
Radulescu, Aurel Soft Matter a.radulescu@fz-juelich.de
Rücker, Ulrich Neutron Source Technology u.ruecker@fz-juelich.de
Schneidewind, Astrid Magnetism and Lattice Dynamics a.schneidewind@fz-juelich.de
Schrader, Tobias Biology and Polymer Science t.schrader@fz-juelich.de
Schulz, Michael Imaging, Materials Science Michael.Schulz@frm2.tum.de
Solis, Cecilia Materials Science cecilia.solis@hereon.de
Stadler, Andreas Biology, Data Analysis a.stadler@fz-juelich.de
Su, Yixi Magnetism y.su@fz-juelich.de
Voigt, Jörg Instrument Technology j.voigt@fz-juelich.de
Wuttke, Joachim Reflectivity Methods, Data Treatment j.wuttke@fz-juelich.de
Zakalek, Paul Neutron Source Technology p.zakalek@fz-juelich.de
Zhernenkov, Kirill Ultra Cold Neutrons k.zhernenkov@fz-juelich.de